About

Welcome to The Pedestrian Equestrian!

I want to take a quick minute to introduce myself – I’m an everyday rider (probably like you!), with a focus on dressage. I live in horse county – Lexington KY – where I moved to from Canada after University. I have a Bachelors in Recreation and Sports Business from the University of Waterloo (Go Warriors!), and currently work for the United States Dressage Federation. My life doesn’t go much beyond horses, except to include my husband and dog, Cleo. We got married in March 2016, had a big wedding celebration in May of 2017.

We are currently working on renovating our first house and truly turning it into a home. A lot of our projects involve painting and correcting poorly done projects by the previous owners, but occasionally we venture into building or restoring home decor items – my husband built our coffee table from a collapsed barn at work, and he refinished our dining set, and television stand. We like to do things ourselves, so it’s a lot of trial and error (and sometimes it’s a lot of fun, but mostly it’s a lot of work). Check regularly for updates as we continue that adventure!

Together my husband and I are huge horseracing and UK Basketball fans. we spend most of the month’s of April and October at the beautiful Keeneland racetracks and most Tuesday and Saturday evenings in the winter cheering on our Cats. I enjoy lifting weights and hanging out with Cleo, our pup who came to Kentucky from Egypt, via the Bahamas. She’s been a wonderful addition to our family and I really can’t imagine life without her anymore.

My happiest days include the gym, a glass of wine, my dog, and a good pair of breeches.

I’m currently horseless, and have been out of the saddle for most of the last year due to a variety of unforeseen circumstances. Unfortunately it doesn’t look like that is going to change any time soon, but we’ll see!

I hope you’ll join me on my journey through life, the levels, and all things equestrian!

Until next time lovelies,
xxo Amber

Professional Reader